Tuesday, 25 October 2011

IPL 2012 dates announced by BCCI

Posted on Sep 28, 2011 byRajesh
The fifth edition of the Indian Premier League organized by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will be held from April 4, 2012 to May 27, 2012 in hot summer of Indian subcontinent. The IPL 2012 will feature 74 matches, same as in 2011 Indian Premier League. The tournament will be held after Indian team returns back from Australia tour where they will play 5 Test, 2 T20 International and a Tri Series against Australia and Sri Lanka.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has given unofficial window to IPL for the next 10 years in their Future Tour Programs (FTP). Indian team is not expected to play any series in the months of April and May. In the Indian Premier League 2011, international players from Australia, West Indies and Pakistan may miss the tournament partially due to overlapping series at the same time. England will host West Indies, Australia is schedule to host West Indies and Pakistan will tour Bangladesh and Zimbabwe in the same period.

The 2011 IPL, played in India took place within a week of World Cup Final match played at Mumbai where India emerged as victorious. In the same event, total number of teams increased to ten after Sahara Pune Warriors and Kochi Tuskers Kerala won the bids for two new teams.

While announcing the closing and opening dates for DLF IPL 2012, Chirayu Amin Chairman of Indian Premier League said, “We have no doubt that the fifth season of IPL will be as, if not more, eventful and exciting than the previous ones.”

Posted in Cricket News

1 comment:

  1. i see your blog, its unique and good for provide ipl News with many ipl betting tips.